WEST VIRGINIA LEGISLATURE

REGULAR SESSION, 1937

ENROLLED

SENATE BILL No. 64

(By Mr._____)

PASSED March 10th 1937

In Effect 40 days from Passage

ENROLLED

SENATE COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE

FOR

Senate Bill No. 64

(Originating in the Committee on Redistricting)

[Passed March 10, 1937; in effect ninety days from passage.]

AN ACT to amend and reenact section one, article two, chapter one of the code of West Virginia, one thousand nine hundred thirty-one, apportioning the membership in the state senate of West Virginia.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of West Virginia:

That section one, article two, chapter one of the code of West Virginia, one thousand nine hundred thirty-one, be amended and reenacted to read as follows:

Section 1. The state shall consist of sixteen senatorial 2 districts as follows:

- 3 The counties of Brooke, Hancock and Ohio shall constitute
- 4 the first senatorial district;
- 5 The counties of Marshall, Tyler and Wetzel shall con-
- 6 stitute the second senatorial district;
- 7 The counties of Calhoun, Gilmer, Pleasants, Ritchie, Wirt
- 8 and Wood shall constitute the third senatorial district;
- 9 The counties of Clay, Jackson, Mason, Putnam and Roane
- 10 shall constitute the fourth senatorial district;
- 11 The counties of Cabell and Wayne shall constitute the fifth
- 12 senatorial district;
- 13 The counties of McDowell and Mingo shall constitute the
- 14 sixth senatorial district;
- 15 The counties of Boone, Lincoln and Logan shall constitute
- 16 the seventh senatorial district;
- 17 The county of Kanawha shall constitute the eighth sena-
- 18 torial district;
- 19 The counties of Raleigh and Wyoming shall constitute the
- 20 ninth senatorial district;
- 21 The counties of Mercer, Monroe and Summers shall con-
- 22 stitute the tenth senatorial district;

- 23 The counties of Fayette and Greenbrier shall constitute
- 24 the eleventh senatorial district;
- 25 The counties of Braxton, Nicholas, Pendleton, Pocahontas,
- 26 Randolph and Webster shall constitute the twelfth senatorial
- 27 district:
- 28 The counties of Doddridge, Harrison and Lewis shall con-
- 29 stitute the thirteenth senatorial district;
- 30 The counties of Marion, Monongalia and Taylor shall con-
- 31 stitute the fourteenth senatorial district;
- 32 The counties of Barbour, Grant, Preston, Tucker and
- 33 Upshur shall constitute the fifteenth senatorial district;
- 34 The counties of Berkeley, Hampshire, Hardy, Jefferson,
- 35 Mineral and Morgan shall constitute the sixteenth senatorial
- 35a district.
- 36 Each of the said districts shall have two senators, and,
- 37 regardless of the changes in district lines made by this act,
 - 38 the senators elected at the last general election shall con-
 - 39 tinue to hold their seats as members of the senate for the
 - 40 term for which each thereof, respectively, was elected.
 - 41 The first, second, third, fourth, fifth, tenth, eleventh, thir-
 - 42 teenth, fourteenth, fifteenth and sixteenth districts as herein

- 43 designated shall, at the general election to be held in the
- 44 year one thousand nine hundred thirty-eight, and biennially
- 45 thereafter, elect one senator for a term of four years.
- 46 At the general election to be held in the year one thou-
- 47 sand nine hundred thirty-eight there shall be two senators
- 48 elected in each of the sixth, eighth and ninth senatorial dis-
- 49 tricts, as herein designated, one of whom from each district
- 50 shall be nominated and elected for a term of two years
- 51 and one of whom shall be elected for a term of four years,
- 52 and biennially thereafter one senator shall be elected in each
- 53 of the senatorial districts for a term of four years.
- There shall be held no election for senator in the seventh
- 55 and twelfth senatorial districts as herein designated, until
- 56 the general election held in the year one thousand nine
- 57 hundred forty, at which time there shall be elected from
- 58 the said seventh and twelfth senatorial districts, as herein
- 59 designated, two senators, one of whom shall be nominated
- 60 and elected for a term of two years and the other nominated
- 61 and elected for a term of four years, and biennially there-
- 62 after one senator shall be elected in the said districts for
- 63 a term of four years.

- 64 All acts, or parts of acts, in conflict with this act, or
- 65 with any part thereof, are hereby repealed.

The Joint Committee on Enrolled Bills hereby certifies that the foregoing bill is correctly enrolled.

Chairman Senate Committee
Der Balka
Chairman House Committee
Originated in the
akes effect passage.
Charlindy)
Clerk of the Senate.
mo I Have
Clerk of the House of Delegates
Ol. E. Horlys
President of the Senate
Speaker House of Delegates
The within this the
day of Morrie 1937.
for the same of th
JARRETT PRINTING COMPANY, CHARLESTON, W. VA.

Filed in the office of West Virginia.

Wm. S. O'BRIEN,

Secretary of State